#1YearToGo to Tokyo 2020 in 2021

The IOC and Tokyo 2020 organisers are marking 365 days to the Opening Ceremony in Japan's capital.

By Olympic Channel ·

#StrongerTogether

It’s our differences that give us strength. One year from now in Tokyo, Jap...

One year from now, we hope to come together in Tokyo, Japan, to celebrate the Games of the 32nd Olympiad.

Last week, the organisers of the Games released the full competition schedule for next year.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games in 2021 are due to officially open on 23 July 2021 with the Opening Ceremony at Tokyo's new National Stadium. International Olympic Committee president Thomas Bach has said the Games "can be a light at the end of this very dark tunnel that humankind is going through at the moment."

1YTG Live

Join us for the One Year To Go live from the Olympic Stadium in Tokyo!

Instagram Live athlete chats

To mark the occasion, four Olympians – three gymnasts and a swimmer – joined official Olympics Instagram accounts Gorin in Japanese and Olympics in English for live chats to mark #1YearToGo.

Artistic gymnastics 2017 floor exercise world champion Murakami Mai and triple Olympic gold medallist Uchimura Kohei took part on the Japanese account at 6 pm and 7 pm Tokyo time (0900 and 1000 UTC) respectively on Thursday.

Meanwhile, four-time Olympic champ Simone Biles and five-time Olympic swimming champion Nathan Adrian joined the global @Olympics handle at 1800 and 1900 UTC respectively.

You can watch the interviews back on IGTV – click here for Murakami and here for Uchimura in Japanese; click here for Biles and here for Adrian in English.

Airbnb Olympian and Paralympian Online Experiences

Connect with the world’s best athletes like never before. Sign up at Airbnb.com/festival to interact directly with your favourite athletes during the five-day festival of Olympian and Paralympian Online Experiences.

You can watch the following experiences on the Olympic YouTube Channel:

24 July: Opening Act with Colin Jackson, Pita Taufatofua and Tanni Grey-Thompson. 7 p.m. UTC/9 p.m. Madrid/noon LA

25 July: Overcoming hardship with Yusra Mardini. 5 p.m. UTC/7 p.m. Madrid/10 a.m. LA

Life lessons with Olympic gold medallist Allyson Felix. 11 p.m. UTC/1 a.m. 26 July Madrid/4 p.m. LA

Story time with Mary Wineberg. 1 a.m. UTC 26 July/3 a.m. 26 July Madrid/6 p.m. LA

26 July: Become resourceful with Pita Taufatofua. 9 a.m. UTC/11 a.m. Madrid/2 a.m. LA

Cycle the virtual globe with Jonny Brownlee. 3 p.m. UTC/5 p.m. Madrid/8 a.m. LA

27 July: Join a dinner party with Colin Jackson. 11 a.m. UTC/1 p.m. Madrid/4 a.m. LA

28 July: Train with Naomi Osaka. 11 p.m. UTC/1 a.m. 29 July Madrid/4 p.m. LA

29 July: Up your sneaker game with Rui Hachimura. 11:59 p.m. UTC/2 a.m. 30 July Madrid/5 p.m. LA

Find out more about the Airbnb Olympian and Paralympian Online Experiences here.

events

24 Jul - 9 Aug

Great Olympic Moments